The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger games ( The Hunger Games #1)

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2)

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games #3)


The Hunger Games trilogy takes place in an unidentified future time period after the destruction of the current nations of North America, in a totalitarian nation known as "Panem". Panem consists of a hugely rich Capitol, located in what used to be the Rocky Mountains, and twelve (formerly thirteen) surrounding, poorer districts which are under the hegemony of the Capitol. The Capitol is lavishly rich and technologically futuristic, but the twelve Districts are in varying states of poverty – the trilogy's narrator and protagonist, Katniss Everdeen, lives in the poorest District 12, formerly Appalachia, where people regularly die of starvation. As punishment for a rebellion generations previous against the Capitol wherein twelve of the districts were defeated and the thirteenth purportedly destroyed, every year one boy and one girl from each of the remaining twelve districts, between the ages of twelve and eighteen, are selected by lottery and forced to participate in the "Hunger Games". The Games are a televised event where the participants, called "tributes", must fight to the death in a dangerous outdoor arena until only one remains. The winning tribute and his/her corresponding district is then rewarded handsomely with food and plenty. The purpose of the Hunger Games is to provide entertainment for the Capitol and to serve as a warning to the Districts to remind them of the Capitol's power and lack of remorse.

My review:

I honestly loved reading this series. I was a little afraid of reading it and that is the reason I havent read it until recently. Everyone was in love with this series so I feared dissapointment which is sometimes the case with very popular books. I watched the movie first and it was awesome so that finally convinced me to give this series a shot. Katniss is a real kick-ass girl and she should be an inspiration to every girl in the world. Such bravery, loyalty, love and protectivness make her one of the best female characters I ever had the pleasure of reading about. Peeta is such a kind and smart pearons and I rooted for him from the beggining even thouh I liked Gale too. First two books were so intense and beautifully written so the 3rd book was a little disappointing because storyline went a little too fast and something was lacking, that something that made the first two books special . The idea of Hunger games, no matter how appaling and gruesome, makes for an unique plot and interesting read. I hope everyone gives a chance to this one of a kind series, which will teach you the importance of family, love, courage and kindness. Prepare the tissues and embark on this amazing journey with Katniss.

Overall ratings:

P.S. I was reading it as part of Dystopian August on Presenting Lenore .


Popularni postovi s ovog bloga

Waiting on Wednesday (93)

Heart to Heart Mondays (12): Books I would love to read but they intimidate me

International blogger tag