srijeda, 17. rujna 2014.

Waiting on Wednesday (68)


Waiting On Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. This is my choice for this week:


Rooms
by Lauren Oliver

Expected publication: September 23rd 2014 by Ecco



The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways 

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance. 

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.




I love Ms. Oliver s writing, her Delirium trilogy was amazing, and I adore ghost stories so thi should be great. I love the blurb and cant wait for it to come out.


What is your WoW choice for this week? 
Leave me a link in the comments.





2 komentara:

  1. I had no idea that Lauren Oliver is publishing a new book! Oh my I need this in my life. It sounds so good! Thanks for sharing :)

    OdgovoriIzbriši
  2. I'm looking forward to this one too! Can't believe it's not out yet, I feel like I've been hearing about it for months.

    OdgovoriIzbriši